top of page

End of Quarter 2!

Dear 6th Grade Parents,

It is my sincerest hope that you and your families had a most blessed Christmas holiday! I just wanted to take some time this morning and update you with what is happening in 6th grade.

This Friday (January 20th) is the end of the 2nd quarter! If you and your child go onto Powerschool and there is no grade for an assignment, it is because I have not received that assignment from your child. I will give your child until Friday to turn in all missing assignments. If I do not have the missing assignments by Friday, I will give the assignment a 0%. Please check with you child to see what is missing!

There is a mandatory Washington D.C. meeting on Wednesday January 25th. If you have questions about the meeting or trip, please speak with Mrs. Clemens.

Catholic Schools Week is January 29th – February 4th! We have included the schedule in the Beacon. I will remind students about which day is which when the time comes. During Catholic Schools week we will be doing Pennies for Patients (Penny Wars). Please send your child to school with any spare change to help raise money for the Leukemia/Lymphoma Society on Monday January 30th and Tuesday January 31st.

Book reports are due on Tuesday January 31st. This month’s project is a written report on a traditional literature book that your child has chosen. Students are to have the book read by next Monday January 23rd. Students were instructed to write a rough draft for the report and to have it done by Thursday January 26th. We will be reading the rough drafts together and making corrections. However, I encourage the students to have the parents read through the rough draft and help make corrections. This does not mean that parents are writing the paper for their child! Point out errors to your child and give some advice on how to improve the paper but let your child learn from his/her mistakes and help them develop his/her writing skills. If you write the paper for your child, you will be doing him/her a disservice and are hindering his/her learning experience.

Last but not least, Science Fair will be held on Thursday March 2nd. This project is a significant portion of your child’s science grade. I am finishing up some material to give to the students regarding the project, how it is to be done and what my expectations are, and I will be explaining it to the students this week. I will be sending parents a specific science fair email sometime this week as well. I wanted to get the date out there so that you can put it on your calendar though.

As always, I am here for you and please let me know if you have any questions, comments or concerns!

God Bless,

Ms. Carolyn Tuski


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page