top of page

Back to School!

My name is Ms. Carolyn Tuski and I will be your child’s teacher this year, along with Mrs. Cristen Yaros for English, and Mrs. Majorie Dobos for Social Studies. I am thrilled to have your child in my class this year as we explore and learn about the world around us through the subjects of religion, reading, math, and science. It is going to be a very busy and fun year for us!

This is your child’s first year of middle school and with it will be some new changes:

  • We will switch classes this year, for both English and Social Studies. Students will need to adjust to being organized and ready to go when the next class period arrives. Lockers will be assigned, and must be neat and organized. (No locks are allowed on lockers).

  • We will attend Outdoor Education, taught by Peter McCreedy, at Camp Lael for four days in September (September 20th-23rd). We will stay overnight on Thursday, September 22nd. This is a highlight of the 6th grade year. We learn more about our relationship with the Earth, and also get to know each other better. Parent volunteers are needed for the overnight stay. More important information about camp is attached to this letter. Please read it over.

  • Band is offered in 6th grade. Students who expect to be in band in high school should sign up this year in order to keep pace with the rest of the band students. Class will be on Monday and Thursday.

My grading system is weighted 50% for tests, quizzes, projects, and book reports, and 50% for homework assignments, class assignments and other daily work (science is graded differently; see attached syllabus). Please read the syllabus information supplied. Expectations for class work are outlined there. Late work is not acceptable in 6th grade, however, in extenuating circumstances, I will take an assignment one day late with 10% off the grade. If a student routinely hands in late work, he or she will receive a zero and parents will be notified. I work with the students to try to develop personal ownership and responsibility for their works. I am available to discuss your child’s progress, but I ask that you make an appointment whenever possible so that I can give your concern the time and attention it deserves.

The rules in the policy book are also my class rules. Be sure to go over them with your child, especially sports-eligibility, uniform rules, and the grading scale. Students will be held accountable to the policy book. I also ask that students strive to be kind and respectful to one another and to me. I look forward to sharing the year with your child. Thank you for entrusting them to my care.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page